ImageHoly! What else is Facebook going to do? Today the company announced their new Facebook App that allows people on Facebook to search for jobs. On the App’s homepage, it shows just over 1.7 million job opportunities.

Facebook claims that it is not attempting to enter the job recruiting market, so what is it attempting to do? Well obviously it is giving its users access to employers, but more importantly it is givng employers access to 1 billion potential employees!

So how does it actually work?

Positions that are posted come from the following recruiting companies: BranchOut, DirectEmployers Association, Work4Labs, Jobvite, and Monster.com. They are sorted by location, industry, and skill. The applicant can apply right on the Facebook jobs page and has the choice to share it with their own social community of friends.

Image

What does this mean?

We all know that technology has drastically changed the way we do business and the way we connect with people. But is it too far to use social media to connect with a possible job? Should Facebook cross into a professional market?

I’m on the fence. My presence on both sites is drastically different. I use LinkedIn to connect with industry professionals, work colleagues, communities that share my interests, and possible job opportunities. It is a professional site and on the site I am just that, professional. I use my Facebook page to connect with my friends and see what is going on in their social lives. My social life is depicted through various albums, status updates, and friends’ comments.

So is mixing the two really beneficial? For some it can be, but for others it may be a negative thing. Regardless, I think it is safe to say that everyone should start cleaning up their Facebook pages!

